Infographics

I must admit that I LOVE infographics. I see it as a way to add lots of information into a graphical representation that is hopefully appealing on the eyes. I think sometimes we can add way too much information and it’s important to remember to try and keep it simple. After exploring Canva and Piktochart (which I have used before) I decided to use a tool I haven’t explored and selected easel.ly (www.easel.ly/). I found it somewhat limited in the designs so I just created one from scratch, chose a preset background, and added all of the elements that I wanted to include. There were a few frustrating aspects. I originally selected a preset shape to put my text in and I wasn’t able to change the color. Every time I seemed to like something it was a part of the Pro version which is $3/month. The text was super easy to add and there were options to change the font, size, add a bulleted, or numbered list.The chart was also fairly simple to insert and had 3 different options to select from. I was able to change the data and color of the bars. I didn’t have the number of patrons included but, went back and added that in because I felt like it was important to understand why the numbers were so much higher in 4th grade. I wanted to add a curved text above my callouts that said Number 1 Books Checked Out by Section but, that wasn’t an option. I also typed #1 but, it automatically changed my text to No 1. Overall, I would recommend easel.ly because the capabilities certainly outweigh the cons but, there are some little instances that could be better.

I was able to look up the data that I included from the library where I work and found some of the information to be very fascinating. You could certainly create something like this where it includes patron names and statistics on students who have checked out the most books in each grade level, etc…

Library Stats

 

 

2 thoughts on “Infographics

  1. Joe Harrell says:

    This is a really novel way to reflect the most popular books based on genre. I’m sure if you posted this in the library students would be inspired to read the No. 1 selections. My daughter, who is in 4th grade, has loved the non-fiction, everybody, and fiction selections you referenced. I don’t think she has read B Bell, so I will recommend that to her. On a side note, we were culling books from her shelves the other day to donate/pass down to her little brother, and she could not part with Knuffle Bunny, which made me happy as we have had so many great times together reading it. She still loves it when Trixie goes “boneless.”
    Great job.
    -Joe

    Like

Leave a Reply

