Presentation Tools

I selected tools that are completely new to me this week. The first one is Slidely. To add pictures to Slidely there is direct access to Facebook, Getty, Instagram, Dropbox, Flickr, and of course photos on your computer. There are options to create a show, collage, gallery, or mobile presentation. To create a show it is a simple as adding your photos, selecting music, save and publish. I found this to be more of a picture presentation tool and not for text. It’s great for using pictures to tell a story.

The second tool I chose was Pixton. To sign up for Pixton you have to put in all of your info and then they send you an email confirmation code. I hit resend twice and am still waiting……….and waiting…….so I’m giving up on this one for now.

The third tool I chose (which becomes the second for this assignment) is ThingLink. You create your account, add photos using your computer, Facebook, Flickr, or a web link.I added a few Creative Commons images of various libraries to get started. You can take one image and add text and website links. There is the ability to share the image 8 different ways: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+, Tumblr, Edmodo, Tackk, and Email.

Unfortunately, I don’t think WordPress likes the text and links from ThingLink. In the above photo I added text and a web link which did not embed using html code. I decided to share the photo to my email so let’s see if that will work instead. I did share it to my email and it worked there. It included an advertisement to ThinkLink but, no way to share it here.

2 thoughts on “Presentation Tools

  1. libraryinparadiseblogger says:

    That’s frustrating when links don’t work the way you’d like them to, isn’t it? I explored ThingLink too, and think it has great potential in the classroom. Pixton is new to me, but I’m not too inspired to check further into it as you didn’t have much luck! I will definitely check out Slidely – sounds like a fun and easy tool to use!

    Like

  2. cynthiahurdblog says:

    I really liked Slidely, but I saw it for more a personal use or using it on a library website rather than in the classroom. Pixton was fun, I’m sorry you couldn’t get it to work. I thought it could be time consuming though because of all the creative choices. I thought that ThinkLink was an awesome tool and pretty easy to use for a lot of grade levels. There’s so much to choose from that it’s crazy to decide which one to use for what! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

